Cats of Progress: Kevin Ginkel Helps Pitch Diamondbacks to World Series

TUCSON, Ariz. — After putting together the best season of his MLB career, former Arizona Baseball standout, Kevin Ginkel, is headed to the 2023 World Series with the Arizona Diamondbacks.

Ginkel became the 10th Wildcat all-time to advance to the World Series, and the first since JT Snow represented the San Francisco Giants in the 2002 World Series.

Ginkel was a key piece to the Diamondbacks’ success in 2023, posting a 9-1 record with four saves, a 2.48 ERA, and 70 strikeouts in 60 relief appearances. . He logged career best marks in games played, wins, games completed, innings pitched, and strikeouts in his fifth season in Arizona.

After a dominant regular season, Ginkel posted a nearly flawless postseason record. In eight appearances so far, the right-hander has gone 1-0 with five holds, a 0.00 ERA, and 13 strikeouts spanning 9.0 innings of work. As the Diamondbacks set up closer Paul Sewald, all eight games in which he appeared this postseason were Arizona victories.

The San Diego native logged one season with the Wildcats in 2016, going 5-1 with a 2.80 ERA and 45 strikeouts in 64.1 innings of work. His most impressive work came during the 2016 postseason as Arizona advanced to the College World Series finals — during that run Ginkel made six appearances with two starts and was 2-0 with one save. and a 1.89 ERA.

Ginkel and the Diamondbacks will face the Texas Rangers in the World Series, with the game scheduled for Friday, October 27 in Arlington, Texas.

Wildcats in the World Series

YEAR Player (Pos.) Team opposite result
1936 Hank Leiber (SA) New York Giants New York Yankees Loss, 2-4
1937 Hank Leiber (SA) New York Giants New York Yankees Loss, 1-4
1984 Craig Lefferts (P) San Diego Padres Detroit Tigers Loss, 1-4
1987 Joe Magrane (P) St. Louis Cardinals Minnesota Twins Loss, 3-4
1988 Ron Hassey (C) Oakland Athletics Los Angeles Dodgers Loss, 1-4
1989 Craig Lefferts (P) San Francisco Giant Oakland Athletics Loss, 0-4
1989 Ron Hassey (C) Oakland Athletics San Francisco Giant Won, 4-0
1990 Ron Hassey (C) Oakland Athletics Cincinnati Reds Loss, 0-4
1991 Scott Erickson (P) Minnesota Twins Atlanta Braves Won, 4-3
1997 Ed Vosberg (P) Florida Marlins Cleveland Indians Won, 4-3
1998 Trevor Hoffman (P) San Diego Padres New York Yankees Loss, 0-4
1998 George Arias (3B) San Diego Padres New York Yankees Loss, 0-4
2002 JT Snow (1B) San Francisco Giant Anaheim Angels Loss, 3-4
2023 Kevin Ginkel (P) Arizona Diamondbacks Texas Rangers TBD

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: